Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Can I have Smore?

The leaves are changing and the mornings are brisk. Fall is here, and if you're like me you're already getting nostalgic for the perfect summer and fall days that help us Minnesotans survive the long winters ahead. This summer went by way too fast between road trips, wedding planning and the like, and I didn't go camping at all! Thankfully, we did enjoy a few bike rides and hikes that allowed us to bask in the beauty that is Minnesota's Great Outdoors (this does not include the State Fair which is fun, but not at all natural.) What we did not get to do was make SMORES!

That's right, friends, vegan smores are not only possible, but also delicious! In fact, they may even leave you or your friends asking "Can I have Smore?"

With a vegan smore, you just need to watch out for the following:

  • No dairy (milk or butter) in the chocolate - You'll have the best luck with dark chocolates.
  • No honey in the graham crackers - Nabisco originals is the only one I could find locally without honey.
  • No animal-based gelatin in the marshmallows - Dandies or Sweet & Sara
Don't worry if you're not going to be out in the woods or near a campfire soon. If you're itching for some ooey, gooey sweet goodness make them at home. First, if you have a gas stove and a skewer, you can toast your marshmallow on the stove (if not, no problem just skip this step.) Second, put half a graham and a square of chocolate on a microwavable plate, top the chocolate with the marshmallow and microwave for 10-15 seconds. Third, top with the remaining half a graham cracker and press for maximum oozing and mingling of sweetness. Finally, enjoy!

No comments:

Post a Comment